President lifts ban on five organisations



President Ranil Wickremesinghe, acting in his capacity as the Minister of Defence, has issued a Gazette Notification lifting the ban that was imposed on five (05) organisations in the aftermath of the 2019 Easter Sunday terror attacks.

According to the Gazette, the organizations no longer proscribed are United Thowheeth Jama’ath (UTJ), Ceylon Thowheeth Jama’ath (CTJ), Sri Lanka Thowheeth Jama’ath (SLTJ), All Ceylon Thowheeth Jama’ath (ACTJ), and Jamiyathul Ansaari Sunnathul Mohomadiya (JSM).

In April 2021, the then Attorney General Dappula de Livera authorised the proscription of 11 Islamic Organisations in Sri Lanka due to their involvement in extremist activities. Among the previously proscribed organisations were Dharul Adhar @ Jamiul Adhar, Sri Lanka Islamic Student Movement (SLISM), Islamic State of Iraq and Syria (ISIS), Al-Qaeda, Save the Pearls, and Super Muslim. However, as of the recent Gazette Notification, the ban on these organizations has been lifted.